top of page
Llanmartin Art.JPG

Our Curriculum

Our School Curriculum

Our new curriculum has 4 Purposes and 6 Areas of Learning and Experience (AoLEs): Language, Literacy and Communications (including Welsh and Modern Foreign Languages); Mathematics and Numeracy; Expressive Arts; Health and Well-being; Science and Technology; Humanities (including RE).


The new curriculum focuses on the development of skills across the curriculum:


Literacy Skills – oracy, reading and writing

Numeracy Skills – numerical reasoning, number, measuring, geometry, algebra and data skills

Digital Competence Framework – ICT skills


Children will be encouraged to use Thinking Skills to plan, develop and reflect on their learning. Our new curriculum will also cover:

  • Rights of the Child

  • Diversity and respecting differences

  • Experiences and skills for careers and the workplace

  • Learning about local, national and international contexts

  • Developmentally appropriate relationships and sexuality education

Statements of What Matters

Each AoLE contains Statements of What Matters which shape learning for children of all ages. These help children think
about what they’re learning and how themes link to each other, to work and to life. They also support pupil progress
each year as they build their understanding and skills.


There are opportunities for all pupils to learn important skills for life that will help them to:

  • Appreciate the world around them

  • Ask questions, look at evidence, make decisions and solve problems

  • Explore, communicate, create plans and find solutions

  • Build resilience and manage their well-being

  • Work with others

  • Make decisions about their future career based on meaningful experiences in learning, work and entrepreneurship

bottom of page